Skip to main contentSkip to main content
You have permission to edit this article.
AP alert

'Succession' dominates drama Emmys, 'The Bear' claims comedy, and Quinta Brunson makes history

  • Updated
  • 0

LOS ANGELES (AP) — “Succession” won best drama series, “The Bear” won best comedy, and both dominated the acting awards at Monday night's Emmys, while Quinta Brunson scored an emotional and historic win for “Abbott Elementary."

“Succession,” the HBO saga of a squabbling wealthy family and maladjusted media empire, won its third best drama series prize for its fourth and final season, along with a best actor in a drama award for Kieran Culkin and best actress in a drama for Sarah Snook.

“The Bear,” the FX dramedy about another contentious family and a struggling restaurant at the center of the life of a talented chef, won best comedy series for its first season. The Emmys also heaped honors on its acting cast, naming Jeremy Allen White as best actor in a comedy, best supporting actress in a comedy for Ayo Edebiri and best supporting actor in a comedy for Ebon-Moss Bachrach. All three were first-time nominees.

“This is a show about family and found family and real family,” Edebiri said from the stage as she accepted the first trophy of the 75th Primetime Emmy Awards at the Peacock Theater in Los Angeles.

Brunson won best actress in a comedy at the Emmy Awards for the show she created, “Abbott Elementary," becoming the first Black woman to win the award in more than 40 years and the first from a network show to win it in more than a decade.

“I love making ‘Abbott Elementary’ so much and I am so happy to be able to live my dream and act out comedy,” Brunson said during her acceptance on the Fox telecast, fighting back tears. The writer-actor was among the stars with standout looks on the Emmys' silver carpet.

“Succession" won six Emmys overall including best supporting actor for Matthew Macfadyen.

“Beef” won best limited series, while Steven Yeun and Ali Wong became the first Asian Americans to win in their categories – Yeun for best actor in a limited series and Wong for best actress. Creator Lee Sung won Emmys for writing and directing. It had eight Emmys overall after three wins at last weekend's Creative Arts Emmy Awards.

More coverage:

Listen now and subscribe: Apple Podcasts | Google Podcasts | Spotify | RSS Feed | Omny Studio

Samantha Hanratty has warned fans to brace themselves for season three of 'Yellowjackets'.

'Beef' star Ali Wong has revealed why she keeps her accolades in "storage".

Selena Gomez Makes 1st Red Carpet Appearance with Benny Blanco at the 2024 Emmys

'Succession' star Kieran Culkin has revealed where he keeps his Golden Globe award.

Christina Applegate Brings the Laughs During Rare 2023 Emmys Appearance: ‘Body Not by Ozempic’

Brian Cox has revealed that he loved playing Logan Roy on 'Succession'.

Here is a list of famous actors who've never won an Emmy as we gear up for the 2023 edition of the prestigious award show. First up is funny man Steve Carell. Next, we have Keri Russell. Jennifer Aniston & Lisa Kudrow are the only members of the cast of “Friends" to win Emmy Awards. Kaley Cuoh-co also features on this list. Next up is Home Alone star Kieran Culkin. His "Succession" co-star Sarah Snook is also without an Emmy. Hugh Laurie has been nominated eight times without winning one. Two-time Oscar winner Cate Blanchett is a part of this illustrious list. Meanwhile, Denzell Washington's won two Oscars, but not a single Emmy Award. Game Of Thrones star Emilia Clarke has never won an Emmy. And finally, Don Cheadle, a man whose been nominated 11 times, is yet to win his first Emmy Award.